The Copemish railroad depot used to be the junction between the Ann Arbor Railroad with the Manistee and Northeastern. Now it resides here in the gardens behind the Wildflowers, offering customers an authentic view of the old station, including the original ticket counter.
Between 1876 and 1892, James Ashley built a railroad running 292 miles between Toledo and Frankfort, MI. But in 1895 he went bankrupt, and the companhy became Ann Arbor Railroad. About 20 miles southeast of Frankfort, the Ann Arbor Railway crossed two different lines headed north for Traverse City, the Pere Marquette at Thompsonville and the Manistee and North Eastern at Copemish.
In 1917 the Copemish Union burned down; and rather than building a new depot, the Ann Arbor depot from Thompsonville was moved to Copemish and placed so that it faced the crossing, not parallel to either track. One end of the depot was converted to a freight room, and later had a very short door cut into the track side, allowing a hand car to be stored inside.
In 1960 it was moved from Copemish to Glen Arbor, about a 30-mile trip that took two days and cost $5,000. A big event at the time, the building was moved between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. so the school buses were off the roads. People lined the roadway to watch the depot pass by.
In 1991 Donna Burgan, owner of the Wildflowers, wanted to expand her store in a creative and unique way. She had the depot turned 90 degrees and moved back 30 feet to make the picturesque depot an integral part of the gardens.
Then. . .
. . .and Now
6127 S. Glen Lake Road (M22) Glen Arbor MI 49636